Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Jean Rhys – Twenty-First-Century Approaches - Edinburgh Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Jean Rhys: Twenty-First-Century Approaches

Erica Johnson and Patricia Moran


Jean Rhys (1890-1979) is the author of five novels and over seventy short stories. The essays collected in Jean Rhys: Twenty-First-Century Approaches demonstrate Rhys’s centrality to modernism and to postcolonial literature alike by addressing her stories and novels from the 1920s and 1930s, including Voyage in the Dark, Quartet, After Leaving Mr. Mackenzie, and Good Morning, Midnight, as well as her later bestseller, Wide Sargasso Sea (1966). The volume establishes Rhys as a major author with relevance to a number of different critical discourses, and includes a section on affect theory tha ... More

Keywords: Jean Rhys, modernism, postcolonial, affect theory, Caribbean, haunting

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2015 Print ISBN-13: 9781474402194
Published to Edinburgh Scholarship Online: September 2017 DOI:10.3366/edinburgh/9781474402194.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Erica Johnson, editor
Pace University

Patricia Moran, editor
University of Limerick

Show Summary Details

subscribe or login to access all content.