Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The Politics of Radical Democracy - Edinburgh Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

The Politics of Radical Democracy

Adrian Little and Moya Lloyd


This book addresses the idea of radical democracy and, in particular, its poststructuralist articulation. It analyses the approach to radical democracy taken by a number of contemporary theorists and political commentators, including Ernesto Laclau and Chantal Mouffe, Judith Butler, William Connolly, Jacques Ranciére, Claude Lefort, Sheldon Wolin, Michael Hardt, Antonio Negri and Giorgio Agamben. By examining critically the accounts of democracy advanced by these theorists, the book explores how a more radically conceived theory of democracy might be extended in a more egalitarian and inclusiv ... More

Keywords: William Connolly, Claude Lefort, Sheldon Wolin, Michael Hardt, Antonio Negri, Giorgio Agamben, indigenous people, same-sex marriage, social movements, globalisation

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2008 Print ISBN-13: 9780748633999
Published to Edinburgh Scholarship Online: March 2012 DOI:10.3366/edinburgh/9780748633999.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Adrian Little, author

Moya Lloyd, author